Some people with a good education and experience in their field decide to move abroad to work. Why do you think that is? What are the problems caused by this?

Some educated and highly skilled individuals prefer to migrate to more developed nations and work there. There are many reasons for this trend and also it leads to many problems. This is caused by the belief that they could secure better paid jobs in rich countries. However, this migration could affect the economic situation in their home countries. The primary reason skillful people leave for other countries is the better job prospects in richer nations. Despite their education and skills, many people are not paid well enough to make ends meet in their countries. For example, in Egypt, doctors in public hospitals secure an income of only 50 dollars per month. As a result, they will travel to Western European countries where doctors’ monthly wages are tremendously higher. The advancement opportunities are also better in more developed countries. An engineer working in a German enterprise can move forward into a managerial role in the company after some years. However, in many Chinese companies, the management board is usually made up of family members. Many Chinese workers cannot advance, even though they are skilled and educated. Therefore, they seek work in other countries with better career prospects / with better opportunities for career growth. This trend positively affects the economy of the developed country. In other words, the educated and highly experienced immigrants usually secure well-paid jobs, and hence they pay higher taxes. The money is then allocated by the government for national healthcare, education, transportation and housing. Thus, they contribute to the betterment of the society. However, their home countries will suffer great losses in services. If doctors and teachers immigrate to other countries, the healthcare and education system will face a shortage of personnel to help the population. It will be very difficult for them to find smart and well-prepared people for these jobs. In conclusion, people travel to work in other countries because of better job prospects in terms of monthly wages and advancement opportunities. This trend helps the economy of the target country but it can be highly detrimental to the healthcare and education system in their home nations.