Some people think that visitors to other countries should obey local customs and behaviours. While Other people disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences.

The world that we live in today is an amalgamation of various cultures and traditions. Major countries have laid certain norms for their guests while few others have embraced new values brought to their land by visitors. This essay will discuss the importance to respect a country’s customs and behaviour as most countries do not appreciate their visitors not following their customs. In my opinion, one must adjust to a country’s given rules. Most countries have followed specific norms and set of rules abided by the citizens since the beginning of time. These customs and rules have not changed till date under any circumstances. Not only the foreign visitors bear heavy penalties for breaking these rules but also are never welcomed to the country again. For example, Singapore has laid strict rules for not smoking in public areas, and if found guilty have to bear huge losses and they are banned from the country for two years. In recent times, some countries are beginning to accept and understand new cultural behaviour. These countries have started to let go if a foreign guest does not abide by their rules, however it is only over looked few times. The severity of punishment is only followed by the scope of the folly made by the visitor. For an instance, in 1985, wearing trousers or Jeans was prohibited in Brazil, a group of tourists wearing jeans were not penalized but they were left on grounds of warning. Later, Brazil scrapped out this rule and started embracing new customs. In my opinion, it is of utmost importance to follow a country’s customs and behaviour while visiting their land because it not only shows that we respect their culture but it also portrays basic human courtesy. Lack of not following a country’s customs not only shows poor empathy towards others but is a great act of disrespect.