Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In today’s society, are we more dependent on each other or more independent? This is an interesting question. While some people believe that we have become more and more reliant on others, I would argue that the advances in science and technology have made us more self-reliant. In the view of some people, the increased number of complicated tasks and projects in the modern world often requires collaboration between people. For example, making a car is not something that can be done by one or a few persons. It needs a group of people working collaboratively on the assembly line. It is impossible for one person to develop a sophisticated online database for a bank or a government department. It must be broken down into small tasks and done through teamwork. Therefore, we are more reliant on each other nowadays. In my view, I would argue that, on the contrary, people are more independent due to the advances in science and technology. The invention of household tools such as washing machines, dishwashers, and robot vacuums makes our lives much easier and less dependent on others. Instead of asking another family member to wash the dishes, you can throw them into a washing machine, and then do your schoolwork or enjoy the time with your kids. Moreover, with the internet, we can also search online for all kinds of information related to work, school, or daily life, while in the old days we had to go around to ask other people. Also, with the internet, people now can shop online and buy products from all over the world with just a few mouse clicks. This is especially convenient for seniors who have mobility problems. As a result, they don’t have to rely on their family members to buy stuff such as household items and groceries for them. In conclusion, I agree with the notion that we are more self-reliant in the modern world due to the development of new technologies.