Some people think that the role of parents is to discipline their children and teach them about right and wrong. Other people consider that the main responsibility of parents is to nurture their children and provide them with a safe environment to grow up in.

Some may argue that teaching children about right and wrong is the crucial aspect of the role of parents. Indeed, children have to learn what they are doing is whether socially acceptable or not preparing for a new environment. However, in my opinion, the main role of parents lies in how well they nurture their children in a safe environment. First, disciplining children is one of the important roles of parents. As they grow up, they have to be apprehensive to others and not making any incidents. Otherwise, once they become adults, they are less likely to get promoted to a higher position considering their indiscreet decision. Another reason is teaching children about right and wrong will ensure their independence. According to the survey, it has been revealed that children who are doted by parents tend to become dependent on others. Therefore, parents need to pay attention to their children’s behavior. In contrast, nurturing children with a safe environment should also be considered to be the parents’ main responsibility. Although putting children in a competitive environment is one of the ways that help them become full-fledged adults, nurturing them with great affection helps them mentally. As an illustration, in South Korea, the number of the case associated with suicide is among the top of all countries. This is because they often shoulder too much pressure from their parents, and the fierce competitiveness makes it even worse. From my perspective, bringing up children in a safe environment should be the parents’ top priority. Although being harsh on children will benefit them in the future in terms of independence, the benefits of nurturing children with their comfortable environment and great affection far outweigh.