Some people think that the humanity is coming apart while others feel that we are getting closer to each other. Is humanity driving apart or together?

Due to the sharp increase in cross-country social, economic, and political interactions in recent decades and vast opportunities for communication and cultural and scientific exchange provided by technological advances the humanity might seem to become united and, what is more, unified. Nonetheless, many researchers ring the alarm bells about the dangers of refractory globalization processes and integration and emphasize the superficial nature of the phenomenon. I find the above-stated point of view the most reasonable due to several arguments that I am going to present and discuss in this essay. Firstly, as Pico Iyer once noticed in his article in Time Magazine in 2000, the less there are conflicts across borders, the more wars take place inside of them. Indeed, multinational corporations and overall aspiration for similarity in terms of equal opportunities and access to the same products, services, and activities might make one feel valued and give a sense of belonging. However, throughout its incredibly long history, mankind has accumulated a rich background, especially in terms of religion, language, and mindsets. This circumstance makes it almost impossible to achieve a complete convention among all the people on earth, so that no one feels neglected and left behind. Obviously, without this convention, there is no complete integration possible. Besides, companies and corporations are only able to become multinational in case they have enough resources for that. Moreover, the world market cannot provide a platform for every business existing. Therefore, due to this contradiction, the world becomes occupied by the companies like McDonald’s and H&M, i. e. those which already are pretty successful and mostly come from prosperous states in the first place, leaving no chance for the so-called Third World countries to ever reach higher levels. In conclusion, even though globalization seems to be making the world a better place and reducing tension and disputes between countries and nations, this effect might only be visionary. The deeper processes are likely to result in uncountable wars inside the borders and endless confrontation between the worldwide trends and divergent concepts. At the end of the day, humanity is bound to come apart.