Some people think that the government should use extra money to fund programs to improve the environment. Others think that it is better for the government to spend money to support artistic programs. Which option do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The government’s function is to collect taxes and distribute funds inside the country in various directions. Some items are more important than others but it is necessary to allocate funds among many budget items. To my mind, both programs are important and require government attention but environmental funding is in priority for the following reasons. Saving the environment became one of the most important issues in the contemporary world. During the 19th and 20th centuries, people have been exploiting the planet’s resources without any concerns about the harm to the environment. In this day and age, our planet is letting us know that we can not keep up in the same way otherwise mankind might face a dire outcome. Therefore, governments should spend more money than before to save our world from an irreversible outcome. My country faced one of the worst in the world technogenic accidents 35 years ago when a nuclear power station blew up and contaminated thousands of square meters of the surface. Even now we perceive aftereffects of it and the territory around the station is still abandoned. We also observe that the planet’s temperature is rising due to people’s activity. Actions are needed to change this trend requiring a lot of government spending. Environmental programs do not generate any income, unlike art which could be self-sustained. The area of the art in a lot of cases allows people who generate art to earn money on it. For example, if a painter produces a good product, he can sell it and earn money. He does not need government support. There are various exhibitions and auctions where art objects could be bought or sold. Moreover, some reach rich people support art and donate their funds to support various directions of art. For instance, philanthropists collect art objects during their lives and then donate them to museums and exhibitions which then could be displayed publicly free of charge or for a small amount of money. To sum up, environmental issues are extremely important nowadays and require the immediate attention of the governments, especially in developed countries. The area of art is also important but it is not so critical and can fund itself.