In many countries the level of crime is increasing and crimes are becoming more violent. Why do you think this is and what can be done about it?

Over recent years, crime has become a global problem and is increasing at an alarming pace. This essay will discuss that the root cause why this issue arises is a big gap between social classes and drug consumption also contributes to crime rates, and then it will suggest that raising the standard of living of the underprivileged and taking stringent actions against drug dealers as the most effective measures to reduce the rate of offenses. The root cause of this tendency appears to be the huge difference in living standards of wealthy people and the disadvantaged. To put it differently, underprivileged people looking at the lives of the rich also want to have everything they need, consequently, they commit a crime in order to become closer to the affluent. Moreover, illegal activities such as drug addiction have a significant impact on enhancing violence levels. To illustrate, according to recent news reports, in countries, where the majority of the population is poor and drug consumption is widespread the crime rate is 65 percent higher than in countries where drugs are less common or non-existent. A possible solution to this worrying problem would be more satisfactory jobs need to be created for poor people. Moreover, there has been little success in the war against drug dealers, so governments and different organizations should intensify the struggle against drug traffickers. For instance, a recent study by MSU has shown that the majority of crime can be deterred if basic necessities of people are met and more thorough checking of cross-border drug supply also can prevent the growth a number of offenses. This essay discussed the causes associated with rising crime rates around the world. While the issues are evidently clear? there are measures that can be taken to alleviate them.