• Some people think that the government should decide which subjects that students should study at university, while others think that students should be allowed to apply for the subject they prefer. Discuss the two views and give your opinion.

University curriculum has become an argued topic among society. While some people believe that it is the responsibility of the governments to establish which subjects will be in the curriculum, some other people think that students should decide which courses to study base on their preferences. This essay will discuss both sides of view and show my opinion. On one hand, it is important that students have a balanced and uniform education because they can obtain integral knowledge. A university curriculum is based in areas that are connected therefore is essential to study all of them. For example, when I did my degree in industrial engineering, At the beginning I had to study subjects that I thought they were not necessary, but over the years what I learned on these subjects was essential to pass and understand other subjects. On the other hand, interest and motivation are really important to finish a university degree. The more the student likes the subject, the more likely the student will approve it. For example, I can say that the subjects that I most like in the university were the subjects that I scored highest. I strongly believe in the importance of integral education. Nowadays the university curriculums are a result of strict searches and studies in order to achieve well-skilled professionals. In addition, in each curriculum exists optional subjects which students can choose based on their likings. To conclude, although students might think that there are some subjects more important than others, the reality is that all subjects in a university degree are connected and moreover they have a purpose in the professional development, thus all subjects are important to study in order to be a well-prepared professional.