Some people think that the government should decide the subject for students to study in university. Others believe that students should be allowed to apply for the subject they prefer.

People have different views on the subjects that university students should be allowed to study. While some people think that students should only be able to study subjects that these people think will be valuable in the future like science and technology, I believe that students should be able to choose their area of study. For many people, restricting university students to subjects like science and technology is an easy argument to make. The main reason is that these kinds of subjects contribute visibly to society. For example, improvements in medicine rely on advances in medical research, engineering, and computer science and technology. Only allowing students to study these kinds of subjects will mean that there will be more people available for work in these areas. While the benefits of more graduates in these kinds of useful subjects are clear, I believe that it would be a mistake to only allow students to study these subjects. This is because society is not able to accurately predict the future and what kinds of skills that people will need for jobs. For example, there may be entirely new fields created that need a strong artistic ability and solid writing skills. If students are only trained to be good scientists or engineers, they may not be able to succeed in these new fields. On the other hand, if we allow students to choose their major, society will be able to better adapt to the future. In conclusion, while it may seem reasonable to force students to study subjects that are currently viewed as useful, I believe that allowing students to choose what they study will help society be better prepared for whatever changes the future will bring.