Some People think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves.

There is no doubt that in some parts of the world crime rate has been increased dramatically. Although some people believe that the public administration should take responsibility to stop crime, others argue that every person is responsible for their protection. In my opinion, both the government and an individual can play their roles equally to prevent crimes. On the one hand, one section of society thinks that every one of us should take care of our safety and protection. This is because the government’s agencies, such as the police, cannot be present everywhere all the time. To illustrate, an incident happened in the United Kingdom, some people shoplifted the gold and diamond jewellery from one of the prestigious retail stores, and at that time the police were not present around that area, additionally, CCTV cameras were not installed. Therefore, in that case, it was the shop owner’s responsibility to install cameras to monitor the unlawful activities, which could help the administration to catch shoplifters. Hence, it is evident that an individual should also play their roles to stop such incidents. On the other hand, some people hold the view that it is the government's sole responsibility to stop offenders from committing any crime. The reason for this is that the public administration has all the power to make and enforce the laws, which will make sure people will abide by laws. For example, in many countries, where the crime rate is low, they have implemented strict laws not only for vicious crimes but also for petty crimes. In one of the middle east countries, there is life imprisonment for pickpocketing and capital punishment for any vicious crime. Thus, there will be a less crime rate if any country applies strict laws. In conclusion, from my point of view, both the government and individuals can play their vital role to stop any crime. The public authorities should make stringent laws and enforce them. At the same time, a person should also take preventive measures, such as installing a camera in a shop, to prevent crime.