Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere. rxel

Since the begging of time people have constantly found a way to become creative in the forms of art. There are group of people who believe governments should not use their fundings on arts and they should spend it in other services. I completely disagree with this given statement, and after discussing both sides of this view, I will give my opinion in the end. To begin with, art is essential for cultural development of a country and it generates a great revenue for the governments. Local artists use their cultural background to create art which is unique and extraordinary. For instance, Pierre Soulages who is also known as “ the greatest living artist”, is a French artist and he creates pantings and sculptures inspired from his cultural heritage. During his exhibitions, France is visited by many foreigners and these tourists spend a lot of money during their stay in France. Thus, funding artists is helping countries to introduce their culture to other nations and earn money from tourism. On the other hand, many think that instead of providing money for artistic purposes, these spendings must be used to improve essential services. Almost all of the countries need improvement in their healthcare, education and transport systems. For instance, festivals, specifically music festivals needs enormous amount of expenditure and sometimes the turn-out to such events does not meet the expectations. Hence, allocating money to such facilities definitely increases the literacy rate and overall well being of citizens. To conclude, I wholeheartedly believe that art is really an integral part of every country, therefore, governments should keep funding and promoting artists which will help the country to keep their cultural values and receive money from the tourists