Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere.

It is said that the money contributed to the art section by the government is not essential and it can be used for other purposes. I completely disagree with this statement because art industry is productive and also art is an essential part of the culture so it cannot be neglected. Firstly some fields of art are dedicated to people’s recreation such as performance arts like theater, films, opera or even ballet dancing. Audiences enjoy watching these forms of art in their leisure time and pay for it. Secondly, there are various artworks which are considered as tourism attraction. For instance, many people around the world visit Louvre museum in Paris each year mostly to behold the enigmatic smile of the Mona Lisa oil painting by Leonardo da Vinci. In other words, the money which is provided for art section by the authorities is an intelligent investment due to the fact that it is a profitable industry. The other factor which soar the importance of art is the fact that many people around the world are working in this industry. So the unemployment rate would decrease if the government manage it properly. For instance, artists like actors, writers, dancers, painters and also businessmen, art dealers and many other occupations are related to this industry. If the government stops supplying money all these people may become jobless. The last but not least, is the importance of art in culture. Studies on ancient art or medieval art, shows how these artists exposed their culture and tradition in their artworks such as cave paintings or stone carvings. Even recent emerging artists are creating masterpieces which help the improvement of the culture. For instance, consider Banksy, a famous British artist who does wall paintings. One of his artworks illustrates a boy enjoying playing with his toy which is a doll in shape of his nurse mother. This masterpiece shows the sacrifices which doctors and nurses and all healthcare workers made during the pandemic of Corona virus. Needless to say, Banksy artworks is becoming part of the Britain culture indeed. However, some argue that this money provided by the government can be more beneficial in other sections such as technology or science, in my opinion, technology and science are as important as art, the annual budget should be divided in a way that it covers all the aspects of the society.