Some people think that the detailed criminal description on newspapers and TV has bad influences, so this kind of information should be restricted on the media.

The question as to whether publicizing criminal data on social media has an adverse bearing or not is questionable at best. Putting this discussion in a wider context, the issue of information privacy law has always been debatable. This essay will discourse the impact of posting lawbreakers detailed descriptions on social platforms and whether it should be banned or not. The convict’s thorough info being widely disseminated embodies the public rights to access information freely. This statement is more reasonable when it comes to serious crime that catches the public attention. With such distress and worry, people have every claim on knowing the elaborate details of the crime. Another reason is that diminishing criminal-related content will plague the cinema industry, especially when some successful films and documentaries have been made based on true stories. However, for every plus, there is a minus. On the individual level, broadcasting offender’s personal illustration may afflict their family when specific information such as house address and background is overt on newspaper and TV. Bullying and harassment might take place by some extremists which manipulate the innocent party’s life. In addition, there is rising concern about the credibility of information from some newspapers and channels. On the societal level, exposure to violent content can give rise to children’s propensity of behaving aggressively and disorderly. This worrying trend acts as the main cause why complete criminal explanation should be censored on mass media. All in all, I would argue that albeit propagating meticulous criminal report description on TV and press has posed some repercussion to the lawbreakers surrounding as well as and the audience, especially youngsters; this source of information should not be restricted but adjusted accordingly, namely being broadcasted on late-time television or having content warning beforehand.