An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

Tablets and laptops become more and more popular in school at the expense of non electrical support. Including new technologies in the learning process can have many advantages. First, it can rise children interest in learning. Indeed, teachers can use new teaching support such as educational games, applications, short videos. . . These new options provide more diversity in teaching methods and can reach a wider population. Second, the fact that school provides electronics like laptops or tablets inforce equality in computer skills and erase inequality at school. Poorer families might not have resources enough for buying a laptop for their child. By ensuring accessibility to new technology to every kids, the school reduces discrimination. However, using computer at school can also have disadvantages. When uing computer to learn and practice, a child writes less. His writing skills are less developed or developed at a lower pace. Therefore, his writing can be harder to understand. Along with his writing skills, his spelling can suffer as well. Indeed, while writing on a laptop, the computer corrects automatically the mistakes made. While this can be convenient at adulthood, it is more like a drawback at childhood when children are supposed to learn how to write mistake free. Using a computer too much doesn't help on that side. The use of new technology at school helps building a set of common skills regardless of the social class. This new technology has to be used wisely and cannot replace totally books and paper fully. A good combination of both methods is the perfect recipe.