Some people think that space exploration is a waste of time and money and it is better for mankind to continue to explore the planet on which we live.

Several people are of the opinion that space expedition is a misuse of resources and it would be more beneficial to carry on with exploring the Earth. Although, space researches are expensive and time-consuming, they can be an answer to our future problems like over-population, whereas, exploring our own planet answers our current issues making resources available in abundance. Therefore, I concur with the idea of conducting both the researches in parallel. The investment that goes into a cosmic expedition is not a piece of cake. It takes a lot of chunk out of a country’s budget which otherwise could have been used for better developmental projects. However, the world is not ignorant of the future threats that stand before us like over-population and pollution. For instance, the rate at which our stratosphere is depleting is extremely alarming. According to a report by the United Nations, the population on the planet earth would escalate to approximately 12 billion people. Consequently, there will be crises of shortage of clean air, drinking water, and of accommodating people. Thus, cosmic expeditions provide us a potential alternate habitat, which might play a vital role in safeguarding mankind. On the other hand, it is impossible to turn our sight from the current problem of making resources to rapidly increasing population. To make sure that everyone has abundance of natural resources available to meet our current requirements is an apex priority. For example, in order to feed the growing population, it is important to cultivate crops, which needs sources of fresh water to be made available to the fields. Thus, it is important to invest in discovery of more sources of soft water or technology that treats of hard water into soft water accessible for irrigation. Hence, it is particularly important to explore our planet as well to make the ends meet. In my perspective, it is extremely important to impart equal gravity to both the researches, rather than drawing a competitive line of one over the other, as both of them are in the interest of mankind. For this reason, I would, reiterate that cosmos might be an answer to our future problems, whereas, exploring our own planet might solve our immediate issues.