Some people think that sense of competition should be encouraged in children at young age others feel its not needed as building character is more important. Discuss

In today’s day and age the idea of competitiveness is used by a vast amount people to shape their lives with from pursuing education to obtaining a valuable career. Many actually live their lives in accordance to this concept and firmly believe it is the primary way to move forward in life, whilst others seem to have a more passive attitude towards it. Throughout this essay I shall be debating the conflicting arguments between these two opinions before reaching a verdict. On the one hand it is fair to state that a competitive mindset is imposed from parent to child at an early age in order to help path a way for their future and why upbringing can sometimes be a major contributor towards setting a sense of competitiveness in children’s minds. Parents who may be involved in highly competitive careers such as medicine or law would have spent a great deal of time and effort on their education whilst growing up. As a result, they may feel obliged to push their children in the same manner and motivate them in reaching their level of achievement. This is specifically emphasized in certain countries such as India or Japan where education has always been a primary focus. On the other hand, some parents may take a more relaxed view on this topic and perceive it as an unnecessary requirement at a young age. It is their belief that building a good rapport with fellow classmates and teachers should always be considered a higher priority as it helps construct a solid personality in the future. For example, children in their primary school years who establish long lasting friendships and learn to co - operate with others find it easier to develop teamworking skills in the future. To sum up I believe that although competition is a great trait to have at a young age for life goals, it is not needed at an earlier age. Working on personality and characteristics should always take higher precedence.