describe an important occasion when you were late

I have to say, being late for taking my graduation photo of junior high school is a regrettable experience for me. Even though I have graduated from junior high school for 2 years, I still feel sorry for that. I remember it happened in May, a month before I left school. Our teacher forgot to tell us when shall we arrive at school for taking graduation photo. One morning, I went to school by bus as usual, but the road which near my home has to be repaired at that time. Unfortunately, I did not notice the information about changing driving route which was sticked on the bus window. After a ten-minute nap, I found I was in an unfamiliar place! I was really shocked and terrified, and I had no idea how did it happen. But I believed that a ten-minute driving distance would not take me far from my home. So I decided to take a taxi. However, it cost me more time than I thought. I spent nearly half an hour to take a taxi, but none was empty. At last, I changed three buses to school. There's no doubt that, I was late. What's worse, I found the whole class was waiting for me to take graduation photos for an hour. After knowing my experience, they didn't blame me, but I still felt so sorry. Although it had happened for two years, whenever I see the unforgettable photo, I always think of this late experience. Now, I'm more careful for every detail in my daily life.