“Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements.

The idea that, whether academic institutes should award prizes for students on the basis on their top-excellent scholastic achievements or improvements, remains a source of controversy. While some individuals say that schools are better off rewarding high score-attaining students, I would argue that it would be preferable to give prizes to ones who make progress throughout intellectual/educational attainment. On the one hand, there are a number of negative consequences if schools reward learners who obtain the best academic performance. Firstly, ideology about scoring marks as high as possible can oblige learners to aggressively compete against each other due to scores in lieu of the knowledge. For instance, in a subjective circumstance, my peers at university excessively adhere to their study with the purpose of obtaining good marks without any scrutiny about what knowledge they should acquire. Secondly, the most excellent students are likely to receive the majority of the attention and priorities from their teachers. On account of the common tendency to focus on the most outstanding pupils of teachers, potentials of ordinary students are often ignored leading to inequality of opportunity in education. On the other hand, I strongly believe that schools bshould award a prize for learners who attempt to improve every day. The first benefit is that it will motivate them to do a more hard-working job to make a plenty of progress in their study. Therefore, it is likely to give an equivalent chance for all students from the poor-performed group to well-performed ones to express their own intellectual ability. Another merit is that the burdensome pressure on learners will be reduced significantly, which can make a major contribution to eliminating negative aspects in examinations. Now that score does not keep holding a crucial part as a decisive factor identifying their ability and non-stop efforts. In conclusion, it seems to me that it is better to reward students making progress profoundly because of some outstanding points although other people insist on the most excellent students more deserve.