Some people think that schools should only teach students academic knowledge Others, however, think that they should also teach students to judge what is right or wrong.

In this day and age, an educational issue under debate is whether schools should provide ideological education or not besides academic education. As far as efficiency, individual growth and mutual relativity are concern, I am deeply convinced that teaching ideological education is indispensable. It is argued that schools should only take academic education. Specifically, shaping thought of students is a chronic and sophisticated process, taking a quite long time and if schools concentrate mainly on academic knowledge teaching, effectiveness in academic can be achieved for pupils learning and a basic foundation is also prepared for them in building ideology. However, academic teaching only is not always productive. In ideological education, one of essential parts is to cultivate learning passion of students via establishing goals for studying, for example, achieving dreams, fulfilling achievements and so forth. Hence, focusing on technical education but ignoring ideological ones may lead to pupils that tend to lose their way in studying and have negative attitudes towards participating in classes, which cause ineffectiveness. Others, however, view ideological education as an essential part in school teaching. It is believed that ideological education facilitates individual growth as accelerating positive value formation and developing a sense of responsibility, community and belonging. In addition, there is no denying that ideological education and the academic counterpart are interrelated and interdependent. Academic education benefits students in utilizing advanced knowledge to explore the world and acquire the realization for shaping ideology. Simultaneously, ideological education offers pupils clear goals for academic learning, which paves the way for further study. Personally, I believe that both ideological and academic education should be stressed in teaching because it helps schools to produce contributing and professional individuals in society.