Some people think that public libraries are necessary while others argue that it is not necessary

Few men and women deem that general libraries are required, whereas others think that it plays a significant role for the betterment of people. While availability of online reading materials and maintenance cost could be the reason that some people oppose this notion, I believe that it is indeed helpful for deprived people as well as it renders studious ambience to scholars. On the one hand, in this era of technological advancement, most of the books could be found on the Internet; and, people can download books of different topics without any charges. For example, I used to download various books from ebooks. com on free of cost. Secondly, it is arduous to ey maintain libraries because it requires a lot of money as well as large number of employees to run it smoothly. However, these funds could be utilized on other sectors which are more important to address. To exemplify, instead of funding libraries, financial support should be given to eradicate poverty from the society. On the other hand, everyone is not blessed with all the amenities due to monetary crisis. As poor people hardly manage to fulfill their basic needs, it would be next to impossible for them to procure latest gizmos for reading. To illustrate, in underdeveloped countries where rudimentary requirements are tough to obtain, people cannot afford to spend money on books. Furthermore, bright students can use libraries as an ideal place for reading because it provides serene atmosphere without any noise pollution. Therefore, I believe that a cardinal role has been played by public libraries due to above mentioned factors. To recapitulate, although spectrum of books could be downloaded from the cyberspace and refurbishment cost of libraries are higher, I think that benefits get by deprived people as well as noise-free environment for students are way more fruitful. Hence, I bolster the notion that public libraries play an imperative role in society.