Some people think that poverty is the reason behind most crimes.

In the recent time, the criminal ratio is increasing rapidly in every country. It is argued that in some people’s opinion poorness is the cause behind most criminal activities and I partially agree with this statement. The purpose of this essay is to portray whether poverty is indeed the root cause of many crimes. On the one hand lack of education is the main explanation for most crimes and due to this fact most of the poor people have no assets or source of income. In other words, these people cannot afford even the most basic necessities, such as food and shelter. For instance, almost half of the world's population (3. 4 billion people) live in poverty and cannot even afford to buy food to feed themselves. Thus, in order to buy food, they engage in criminal activities such as drug dealing or robbery. Therefore, due to poorness people easily get involved in these offences. On the other hand on the other hand, poverty cannot be blamed for many crimes, because, as they say, poverty is not a vice. In other words, wealthy self-sufficient people can also commit crimes such as robbery, murder, and other windowless activities For instance, sometimes, when a person gains wealth, he is not saturated with it and, as a consequence, there is a temptation to power and individuals wants more and more. Therefore, they go to crime in order to earn easy money and satisfy their greed. To sum up, although poverty is sometimes the reason of many crimes, in my personally view, it cannot be argued that poor people will necessarily commit a crime, since offences are committed all over the world regardless of social status, nationality or race.