Internet crime is increasing rapidly as more and more people are using the internet to make financial transactions. What can be done to tackle this problem ?

The invention of the internet has led to dramatic changes in the way information is shared and distributed. This system has given rise to the problem of cybercrimes as many people are now using the internet for financial transactions. This essay shall explore and discuss some of the measures to combat this problem. Nowadays, people have started sharing sensitive data on various online platforms for making payments. This lead to cyber security breaches and thousands of dollars are stolen by the hackers in few seconds, therefore; substantial changes should be brought into the system to save our data. One of the solution to this issue is that the web platforms who provide the facility of online money transfer should take the responsibility of securing the data of their customers. To do this, they should install robust anti-hacking software to cease the unauthorised access of the information. Besides this, the payment companies such as PayPal and Google Pay should keep a separate department whose job is to do data surveillance, and inform the higher authorities in case of security lapse. In addition to this, the government should implement strict rules regarding online robberies. As this is a novel crime, they have not yet set proper criminal and penal codes for these types of crimes. Furthermore, cyber security awareness campaigns should be initiated in the public and make them vigilant regarding online frauds as several incidents have been reported where people gave sensitive personal details such as OTP, and ATM code to the strangers unknowingly and become victims of online thefts. In conclusion, although the problem of the internet crimes is not insurmountable, I believe that it is the responsibility of both the government and the payment companies to solve this issue. They should work together by considering some of the solutions proposed above to put a stop to these crimes.