Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been a debate about whether physical strength or mental strength that is more important for those who want to be sucessful in sport. In my opinion, I believe both factors contribute greatly to the triumph of those who participate in sport. In one hand, physical strength is considered the most acknowledged factor that a man of sport needs. Firstly, sporting is the field of physical acts. Sporting events do not happen in dream and fantasy, which means there will be real interaction; therefore, physical strength is the winning element for those who have it. Secondly, most elite athletes are cautious and well-prepared in exercising and eating to build muscle. The reason is that physical toughness helps them avoid injuries during training and competition, or their sporting career could be ruined by injuries. In the other hand, mental strength is not less of an important contribution to the victory of athletes in sporting events. The first reason can be shown is that, with strong mental health, the athlete can easily adapt to the situation, consider that sport is not an area where there are only praises and compliments. Ones with the ability to bear the burden of competing will not easily get mental breakdown, in other words, he would have a more stable condition to compete and to win. The second reason why mental capacity plays an important role in winning and losing of an individual in sport is the ability to handle pressure. Those who find themselves take part in sporting events do not only represent a society, but sometimes a nation, however not everyone who want to success in sport have the power to redeem themselves after losing or getting critical opinions, and that, sadly, results in the failures of many athletes nowadays. To conclude, I strongly believe muscular strength and willpower of a man are inseparable factors that decide the success of those who want remarkable achievements in sport.