Many people living in cities these days do not get enough physical exercise . What are the causes for this? What are some possible solutions?

More and more number of people living in cities are leading towards a sedentary lifestyle where everything is replaced by technology and individuals find difficult to spare time for physical health. There are plethora of reasons which has led to this trend but, at the same time, we also have many effective solutions for this problem. The primary reason is advancement in technological development which has replaced everything that involves physical activity. The usage of smart phones has become a trend where people nowadays, allocate most of their time. Young adults in earlier days, play outdoor games like cricket, football, tennis and they were physically fit but since the smart phones have been introduced, they find it convenient to play in the comfort of their home on their phone. Hence, this has reduced physical activity to a larger extent in the modern cities. The secondary reason is, overpopulated and crowded cities where people find it difficult to even walk. Foothpaths are flooded with hawkers and local vendors which has completely eliminated the possibility of walking and running. Until and unless such problems persist, physical exercise cannot come into existence. I believe, there are some vital solutions which can eradicate this phenomenon. Nowadays, we have modern apps like Fitbit which not only keeps a track of your physical activity like walking but also monitors heartbeat and blood pressure. This is a blessing for a mankind, which not only helps to keep a track of their heath but also eliminate any possible diseases at an early stage. The government must promote development of gardens and walking tracks in every locality, so that people living in cities may come out from passive lifestyle and allocate some time for their physical fitness. This will not only help us to create a healthy society but also the government spendings on healthcare will reduce drastically. To conclude, I believe government and individuals living in cities must work towards creating a healthy society by focusing on the solutions mentioned above.