Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Provide reasons for your answer. Include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While some people insist that parents are responsible for moulding young children into responsible adults, others opine that teachers have a greater responsibility to impart value education. In my opinion, schools have a greater role than parents in shaping the socio-cultural behaviour of children. This essay explains why parents are not the best people to impart social values. Parents are the first teachers for any child. They are the first people the child comes into contact with and during early childhood, they are the only influence on the child. However, as the child grows up and starts school, they will have a variety of influenced on them at that stage, it is not easy or possible for parents to monitor their conduct strictly. Also now in most families both parents go out to work and it is very difficult for them to give complete attention to the social and moral development of their children. Schools, on the other hand, teach students values such as discipline, punctuality, empathy and so on. Also schools help mould kids into better grownups by teaching them teamwork, and giving them opportunities to participate in various socio-cultural activities such as tree plantations, clean up drives etc. The other key aspect is that children spend a considerable amount of their day at school with their peers and so it is the most suited place to learn and perfect social values and good conduct. For example, in my secondary school, it was compulsory for everyone to to participate in community welfare programmes. A school alone can provide ample of opportunities for kids to to embrace these intangible values and practice them in their lives.