Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Rapid increase in population in cities has given birth to a lot of issues. This essay will discuss some of these and possible ways to sort out them. One of the major problems that arises due to overpopulation is degraded living environment. The cost of real estate is high in cities, which forces masses to live in slums and congested housing. As a result, several factors prevail in such conditions such as lack of proper ventilation and sanitation, which lead to serious health problems, even fatal sometimes. Example of such problems have been seen in the past such as virus and pneumonia outbreaks. Also, mitigation planning is much difficult whether it is natural disaster such as earthquake, floods or man-made disaster such as fire, accidents and much more. The possible solutions to these situations is that governments should provide a quality housing for those who cannot afford it, as most of people seek to live in cities is due to job opportunities in urban areas, resulting a helping hand in boosting economy. Solution to another problem is possible as if individuals should prioritize the critical factors such as ventilation, sanitation as well as mitigation planning before finagling a place to live. Even if, they are required to travel from outskirts of cities, provided these critical factors are taken care of, must be encouraged. In conclusion, overpopulation causes degradation in living environment and hardens the disaster mitigation planning. Certain solutions could be looked upon such as quality housing programs by governments and first preference of individuals be safety that is disaster mitigation.