Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. 7

It is an undeniable fact that environmental problems have become a primary concern for modern society. It is often argued that government should increase the taxes on petroleum for solving this problem. However, I partially agree with this notion due to several reasons which I will discuss in the following essay. To commence with, if the government will make fuel costly to purchase for driving automobiles, certainly people will not use their own vehicles. As a result, individuals will commute from public transports to their workplaces, and the government will able to gain great revenue from the public transport sector. Apart from this, fewer cars and bikes on road will reduce the traffic congestion problems, and eventually will improve the quality of air in the atmosphere. Moreover, the exploitation of natural resources such as coal, gas, and petroleum will also decrease among the people. Therefore, the above reasons support the favor of increasing the fuel prices to solve environmental issues. On the other hand, expensive fuel will bring a negative impact. First and foremost, if the fuel costs will rise up, similarly other goods and services will also increase such as food, clothes, electricity, and many others. Due to this, a middle-class person will be suffered from the necessities of their daily survival. Secondly, it will incline the poverty of the masses within a country. Additionally, although rich people can afford the petrol price for riding in their private vehicles, it is tough for a normal person to afford such assets because they have fulfilled their basic standards of living. In conclusion, although the high cost of petrol would bring positive development to protect the environment, it will also bring adverse effects, particularly for poor people. Therefore, I believe that authorities should take few leads to tackle this problem in such a way where it should be beneficial for the environment as well as the modern society.