Some people think that modern games can help children develop a wide range of skills, but others argue that traditional games can be much better for developing such skills. What is your opinion?

Gaming has gradually been one of the most common leisure activities in this modern society due to recent advances in technology. This has created a controversial topic over whether it would be better for children to develop a variety of skills by playing modern games or traditional ones. In my opinion, I would agree with those who support the former. To begin with, it is a fact that modern games offer children, many chances to gain several necessary skills. Firstly, it would improve a child’s problem-solving skills in some ways. It seems that almost every game nowadays has its own rules that players have to comply with. As a result, the player has to think it over before deciding what to do next so as to make sure that they do not break the required rules of that game. Simultaneously, this also gives way to decision making skills as sometimes children have to make quick choices for some unexpected situations in games. For example, a game that would improve these two skills is Temple Run. To win this game, the player has to escape the pursuit of a monster by running fast. While running, there would be quite many turning points and obstacles that he has to overcome by making quick decisions. In this case, his brain’s function is enhanced to accomplish the assignments without infringing the game’s rules. Secondly, playing modern games can also enhance multitasking skills which is defined as the ability to perform several tasks at the same time. In other words, it helps players to be extremely observant. There are many games that require children to be able to move their joystick, or press the right button while paying attention to other factors such as energy levels or available time. This may benefit children in the long run, becoming a blessing for their future career as it increases their productivity at accomplishing the tasks given. However, many people claim that these aforementioned skills can also be developed with traditional ones. For example, problem solving skills and decision making skills can be enhanced by playing the game Mandarin square capturing (O An Quan). To win this game, the player has to distribute the pebbles one by one to each square. If he has his last pebble dropped into an empty square, he will win all the pebbles in the next one. This requires smart choices to be the winner. In this case, I believe that modern games would be better as it has a large number of levels with increasing difficulties, different problems and unexpected obstacles that would make the brain work harder to find the best solution. Also, it seems to most children that modern games are much more interesting so they will focus on their game more than traditional ones, which means they can develop their focus skills better. Multitasking skills may also be developed better by gaming due to its endless creativity compared to the traditional games whose rules are still simple. In short, although both modern games and traditional ones can be beneficial for the development of children, modern ones would work better as it is much more developed than the old fashioned ones. However, playing too many games on computers or televisions can lead to addiction or some health detriments so parents need to care for how long their child play.