Some people think that mobile phones should be banned in public spaces like libraries, shops and on public transport.

It is sometimes argued that we are not allowed to use mobile phones in public spaces like libraries, shops and on public transport. While I accept that this may suit in many circumstances, I believe that mobile phones might have some advantages for certain groups of people. On the one hand, allowing using mobile phones might have some benefits to travelers, customers and the community. Firstly, foreign tourists could read numerous instructions or signals in public areas transparently and conveniently by using a language translator application. For example, visitors can interpret a deluge of information about Covid 19 pandemic from other languages to native language by their handheld devices in order to prepare for their vacation as impeccably as possible anywhere and reduce the transmission of crippling virus in the community. Furthermore, mobile phones are a good means of communication assisting a plethora of people who are in a tight corner. Take for example a kid who loses track in crowded public areas. Upon using a smartphone, he/she can be in touch with his/her parents to find help and then, parents can attempt to trace the whereabouts of their kid by the information that their kids provide. On the other hand, ubiquitous mobile phones could degrade the conception of public places seeing that they put some distance between people. Should we use cell phones in public places, it will deteriorate the level of social connections and communications. For instance, on public transport, we perpetually glue to our smartphone screen and become more detached from the surroundings as they are engrossed in chatting with their friends or browsing the web, which does not interact with other people by an open channel of communication. This will make everyone grow apart from each other and lose an essence of society. Banning using mobile phones in public spaces plays an integral part in improving social communication and raising awareness of everyone about the importance of the community in education and personality development. In conclusion, in spite of the fact that using handheld devices could be beneficial to visitor’s experience and notice the spread of covid 19 during the public health crisis, I still believe that banning using mobile phones is a good way to preserve the nature of social connections.