Some people think that litter in public is a serious problem. Some say that it is not a big deal. What is your opinion about it and give some relevant examples.

Other people are of the belief that littering within the community is a major problem, while there are some individuals who hold the view that it is not something that the public should give much importance. In my opinion, I am a proponent that the presence of garbage in our surroundings is detrimental to individuals’ health and environment. The existence of rubbish in an area is harmful to people’s well-being. If not disposed properly, hazardous wastes thrown everywhere have the potential to harm humans. For instance, overflowing garbage and exposure to waste can cause skin irritations, blood infections and respiratory diseases to humans. Therefore, littering in public should be an important matter to deal with to prevent health risks to humans. Furthermore, waste materials have enormous effects to the environment. Soil, water and air pollution can all be a result of being contaminated with the various types of garbage. For example, some garbage may smell and generate methane gas, contributes to the greenhouse effect and significant harm to marine and wildlife. Thus, the presence of garbage in our surroundings has a major impact to our environment. In summary, improper disposal of garbage will tend to cause harm to the health of the people as well as the environment. That is why it is something not to be disregarded so that people and the environment would not suffer.