Agree or disagree with given statements

Ever since colleges and universities have been established, they operated in a transparent notion: the honor is for the wildest academic performer. I highly agree with such statement for several reasons. First, if it were easy everyone would have done it. In order to improve the world we need hard workers that appreciate every chance given to them. High academic performers will never hesitate to put any effort if the world needed them because it is their goal from the begging to enhance their community. Second, if colleges and universities admitted everyone, no one will thrive to increase their academic abilities because their position is guaranteed. This would result in crucial crisis, starting from economic breakdown and ending up from the zero point; as if the world never prospered! Third and last, people who do not crave academic growth are not alive; they are just prayed years later. Life without the purpose of increasing knowledge is meaningless because it causes more harm than benefit. At the end, nothing is perfect: even college admission process. I believe colleges and universities selection process is not in the best shape that it should be in, in order to grant a productive community. It needs some adjustments but regardless of that it should stay revolving around the same concept; academic performance.