Some people think that it is necessary to travel to other places to learn about other cultures. Others say that books, films and the Internet can be used as a source of information about different cultures. Do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some people that travelling to another country is compulsory for learning that country’s cultures while there are others believe that we can learn cultures from social media in this era of advanced technology. While I agree that reading historical books, watching documentary movies and searching the Internet are hard to ignore, I also hold the belief that it is much worthwhile to devote resources and efforts to attempting new cultures in different countries. On the one hand, it is unequivocal that studying cultures from home is of certain privileges for individuals. To begin with, individuals can save their budget when choosing to discover cultures from the Internet. Surfing the Internet costs almost nothing but a computer set, and in some cases, a premium subscription. Also, these days modern technology with high-definition images and surround sound is to ensure the experience of the learners from distant areas of the world. Furthermore, it would avoid culture shock for people as they are not obligated to migrate to unfamiliar countries. In fact, a great number of people travelling to other regions suffer from culture shock, which makes them feel homesick, withdrawn and isolated in their new community. On the other hand, paying a visit should not be neglected on learning new cultures for some reasons. First, it can act as a booster to enhance their social life. This means that individuals of great opportunities to connect in person with many foreigners, and thus, promoting their social skills. In addition, people cannot have hands-on experiences if only staying home and reading reviews posted online. Instead, they should get directly exposed to the culture that they are curious about so that they can have their own experiences and assessments without relying on others’ subjective standpoints. In conclusion, both learning cultures from home and travelling to different countries are equally effective. Therefore, people should choose their favorite one based on personal preferences.