Some people think that it is important to teach children the skill of handwriting.

Quite a few people are of the perception that handwriting is an important skill and children must be taught how to write legibly. I agree to a certain extent with this opinion as handwriting is a basic skill but undue importance should not be focused on handwriting. Handwriting is one of the very first skills which a child learns. Legible and neat handwriting is a minimum requirement for kids these days. Handwriting is important since it will be used for the remainder of a child's life for various purposes. Handwriting is one of the first indicators of hand-eye coordination in children. Handwritten notes help children to retain and recall information efficiently. Also, writing helps kids to develop dexterity and expression. For instance, calligraphy classes are offered for all ages to express their love for various styles of writing. In addition to this, penmanship is valued around the world for presentation purposes. Handwriting should not be afforded unnecessary attention. Legible handwriting skills must be developed among children. However, in the digital era, the necessity for handwriting has reduced greatly for other skills for employment. For example, skills such as shorthand and typing are given precedence as work skills. Furthermore, children are now more technology-oriented and prefer to learn through online methods rather than the traditional method involving physical notes. To conclude, penmanship is a fundamental skill required in life. However, the global age is rendering it irrelevant over time but handwriting must be given some importance to ensure basic skills are inculcated among the impressionable minds.