Some people think that it is important to educate adults who can not read and write, while others argue that education of young generation is more essential.

It is true that some adults are unable to read and write, needing a special educational programme. While I accept that education for these adults is very important, I would argue that we should put more emphasis on educating young people. There are several reasons that illiterate education is necessary. Firstly, education gives them knowledge and skills which are able to have more opportunities for adults to find great jobs. People without qualifications might hardly find jobs outside manual labor such as construction worker, carpenter or housekeeper. Secondly, training programs can raise their awareness of laws or issues of society, so that the rate of crime offenses involved in ignorance will be declined. Moreover, the life of the whole society will be improved and developed. In addition, governments can save the money spent on the assistance of adults. On the other hand, I believe that it is important to educate the young generation. The main reason associated with this is that young people are the future of this planet who will take a huge burden by building a country, thus well-educated them will have a good community and a wealthy country in the future. Another reason is that the risk of having adults without literacy and numeracy will be prevented by educating our future. If young children are not well-educated, their mental and behavioural development will be significantly affected. Therefore, they can get social evil such as drug addiction, sexual harassment, teen pregnancy or exploitative child labor, so education programs will help to decrease child crimes and improve the quality of life. In conclusion, although it is necessary to educate illiterates, in my opinion, teaching the younger generation is more important.