Foreign freehold in Thailand

What will be changed after foreign freehold is conceded by the new royal in Thai society? Although it is obviously seen that freehold could be beneficial to the ownership and country, there are several drawbacks too. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of freehold and provide a logical conclusion. A number of benefits from new drafting of new royal to allow foreigner to buy house or condominium by freehold are not only boost in country’s economy but also inheritable estate to the heir. Firstly, foreigners who invest with freehold buying can expand the revenue earned to the country since their fund is spent to be the landlord, meaning that they need to pay higher transfer fees and taxes during their living in Thailand than Thai people. For instance, the inholding land on Phuket island can generate a lot of profits if someone outside invests and builds on the residential project. Another example is a beautiful landscape like Pattaya beach area which always receives many incomes from tourists. Furthermore, foreign freehold is more desirable in the resale market but if they do not decide to sell as secondly, ownerships can directly forward their housing estate to their descendants with completely legal. This way, it seems to be a double benefit. However, when the new royal let the outlander be the owner of the land, this might lead to many problems and some disadvantages to Thai citizens. The first point, we are focusing on the factor that could become the problem in the long term like the development of illegal economic activities. Also, some foreigners use the nominee to buy the land for them instead which is beyond the law limit. This affects Thai people in lessened places to live. Second, refers to the point that foreign freeholds exploit Thais. Second issue to find out is that foreigners can possess the land over the country not unless the rural land and agricultural portion or even the areas at risk of military security. These actions cause a significant increase of land price. Therefore, Thai people would get a lower chance to own the land, especially the poor. Besides, foreign freeholds that make the rental can not maintain the building. Thus, they are just dependent on the owner to develop all facilities in that building. To conclude, the drafting of a new royal has both advantages and disadvantages as I mentioned above. Personally, I think the drawbacks outweigh its benefits. Hence, in order to balance the living in Thailand with a stable economic movement, we need to regulate more strictly in foreign freeholds which will be much better in the future.