Some people think that it is hard to esacpe from the influence of media in media-rich society.

With the ease of setting up internet connection in most parts of the world and the recent advancement in mobile technologies, it is becoming easier for us to receive digital information from the internet or even with smartphones. It is inevitable for us to be influenced from the mass media, in both digital and traditional printed form. In general, I suppose there are both benefits and drawbacks on the aforementioned matter. First, there are some scenario where the mass media can lead to a contributing effect on our living lifestyle. For example, there are fruit advertisements advocating the importance of having a good eating habits and keeping fit. Although these types of advertisement were produced with an aim for promoting their own products, they are also influencing the public to have a healthy lifestyle. Moreover, the media can also provide instant information which is beneficial for some devastating situations, such as flooding and storm. The instant information can help residents to keep safe at their individual positions. Therefore, the media can indeed contribute positively to our society. In contrast, the mass-broadcasting material can also deteriorate the belief for the young generation or the society in general. Materialism is one of the notorious examples that was originated from TV drama, where the whole family are arguing for monetary problems. These dramas pose bad effects to the society, as they promote the thinking of money over family relationship. Although the mass media can provide rich information to the general public, one must be able to critically think about the content of the broadcasting material before fully absorbing it. That may lead to the development of bad sense of belief, which can influence the society negatively in the long term. In a nutshell, it is possible for media to influence both positively and negatively to the society. Critical assessment on the content of materials is crucial for living in a society which is being bombarded by media for 24/7.