Some people said that the mass media keep influencing our life. Disucss both advantage and disadvantage for living in media-rich society

With the ease of setting up internet connections in most parts of the world and the recent advancement in mobile technologies, it is becoming easier for us to receive digital information from the internet or smartphones. Therefore, it is inevitable to be influenced by the mass media, digital and traditional printed forms. In general, I suppose there are both benefits and drawbacks on the matter as mentioned above. First, there is some scenario where the mass media can lead to a contributing effect on our living lifestyle. For example, fruit advertisements are advocating the importance of having a good eating habits and keeping fit. Although these types of ads were produced to promote their products, they also influence the public to have a healthy lifestyle. Moreover, the media can also provide instant information, beneficial for some devastating situations, such as flooding and storm. The instant information can help residents to keep safe at their positions. Therefore, the media can indeed contribute positively to our society. In contrast, the mass-broadcasting material can also deteriorate the belief of the young generation or the society in general. Materialism is one of the notorious examples that originated from TV drama, where the whole family is arguing for monetary problems. These dramas pose harmful effects to society, as they promote the thinking of money over the family relationship. Therefore, although the mass media can provide rich information to the general public, one must critically think about the content of the broadcasting material before fully absorbing it. That may lead to the development of a lousy sense of belief, which can negatively influence society in the long term. In a nutshell, media can influence both positively and negatively society. Therefore, critical assessment of the content of materials is crucial for living in a society that is being bombarded by media 24/7.