Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few topics have drawn as much scholarly attention as the study of literature in a school, especially in the past few years. Although there is substantial debate over whether teaching poems and novels at schools are useless for pupils or doing so rather benefits learning, I am of the opinion that the latter proposition has several strong elements that deserve attention. A number of benefits can be attributed to literature learning. On the one hand, by having knowledge of a variety literature one can learn such basic essential skills as comprehensive reading, witting and the like, thus broadening their horizons. On the other, with the learning creative literature, a person would pursue their future in that filed by being an excellent philosopher or reputed lawyer. There is no doubt that all these merits of consisting literature subject in the school curriculum as a mandatory subject will hold up-coming generation in good stead as far as sharing the knowledge of the past life ranging from ancestor’s civilization to cultural history of people is concerned. Examples of this scenario can be seen in the school of India, students should be learnt literature subjects from primary to high school as a compulsory subject. Admittedly, it is true that there are less opportunities to build a bright future by studying novels and poems and one cannot dismiss the beneficial aspects associated with it. However, these benefits appear to be insignificant against the deluge of drawbacks that reducing focusing on valuable subjects like science and math gives birth to. In conclusion, I would not wish to underestimate the concerns regarding learning novels and poems in high school. Nevertheless, I feel that the role of literature in enhancing creativity and imagination in people's mind as well as being a more artisic by having literature teasures is instrumental indeed.