Many people living in cities these days do not get enough physical exercise. What are the causes of this?

The number of people who are living in urban areas is growing at a rapid pace. Having access to a better job market, higher salary, convenient facilities, and healthcare service are among the primary reasons behind this shift. However, living in cities has its own specific challenges too. The fast rhythm of life in cities leaves little time for most citizens to pay attention enough to some areas of their lives that are important, but they do not seem to be urgent at first glance. For example, having sufficient physical exercise is widely overlooked, according to reports released by public health organizations. Some argue that neglecting the necessity of including physical exercises in individuals' daily routine is due to the lack of time. Plenty of people have to work most of their hours to cope up with their basic expenses. Also, they have a lot of family responsibilities to deal with. These facts leave a short time and a low energy level to be dedicated to other activities, such as working on their bodies. On the other hand, some critics claim that the earlier group's excuses do not offer solid justifications for ignoring the crucial role of putting an exercising plan in most people's schedules. They suggest having an optimized personal time management system, a disciplined lifestyle, and increasing awareness about physical health to overcome the problem. Overall, addressing the issue of declining the physical exercise rate in cities goes beyond personal lifestyles only. At a higher level, a government can contribute to solving the problem. Making gyms more accessible and affordable, promoting the positivity of physical training, educating people, and providing attractive incentives are just a few options for a government to act upon.