Some people think that intelligence is innate while others think that we can improve our intelligence through learning.

​ Opinions vary on the extent to which intelligence is determined genetically or by practice and study. In my view, both individual endeavour and one's inborn nature contribute significantly. Regarding the role and importance of genetics, it is indisputable that each of us inherit numerous characteristics from our parents, such as looks, psychological traits, interests and tastes. By extension, it is logical to accept that intelligence is also passed on from one generation to the next. This logic is supported by studies of twins separated at birth and of adopted children later reunited with their birth parents. Until these studies are disproved, I have no grounds on which to base an opinion that intelligence is not innate, at least to some degree. Nevertheless, the role of education in shaping the intelligence of individuals should also be acknowledged. One of the most common ways of measuring brainpower has long been IQ (“Intelligence Quotient”) tests. These consist of questions which test abilities such as verbal and numerical reasoning, and lateral thinking. There is no doubt that these questions can be practised and that the skills in question can thereby be honed. By way of comparison, it would be universally agreed that the practical skills of, say, chefs, gardeners and plumbers are improved by virtue of frequent repetition. Therefore, all abilities - even arguably innate ones such as intelligence - can be improved through one's personal efforts. In conclusion, I am of the firm opinion that intelligence is moulded not only by genetic factors but also by individual effort.