Some people think that intelligence is innate while others think that we can improve intelligence through learning. Discuss both sides.

There has been increasing attention to the topic on the origins of intelligence. Whereas some individuals believe that this trait is innate, others state that it is enhanced by learning. This essay will discuss both views in depth. Some of our intelligence is already ingrained in us at birth. The information passed to us by our ancestors is already contained in our DNA. This given knowledge helps us adapt to the environment we live in. To illustrate, newborns already know how to obtain milk from their mothers, are ready or eager to learn a language and might even come with an exceptional ability to play a musical instrument. As stated above, intelligence comes with us even before our births take place. While we are born with some knowledge to adapt to our environment, our mental abilities are further developed by our daily experiences in the setting around us. The tasks people do every day challenge them and help them discover new elements which in turn increases their intelligence. For example, if an individual misses the bus one day, the next time he or she not only will be on the hour stated but will make sure in the future to wake up at the right time to prevent further delays. The intelligence of a person increases as a result of the knowledge acquired by daily living. Where does intelligence come from? While it is an element of the human brain, it is also an ability fostered through the acquisition of new information. This essay discussed the two views as stated above.