Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

It is commonly seen these days that a lot of children play games on computers which are very widely available. There are many problems that arise from this ranging from getting addicted to having physical problems, while there are also solutions aplenty. With regard to the undesirable consequences of children spending unending hours playing computer games, the foremost is of them getting addicted. To elaborate, these games are usually highly addictive in nature and hold the attention of youngsters for very long periods. This results in their losing time in addition to energy which could otherwise have been used for fruitful purposes such as studying. Furthermore, when children are cloistered in this unreal world, they fail to recognize the actuality of the real world and people around them. Thus they become unable to build relationships with others which ultimately harms them tremendously in the long run. In addition, these computer oriented games offer no scope for any physical activity resulting in tangible and serious problems such as obesity and deteriorating eyesight which are seen worldwide. Nevertheless, there are many ways in which this issue that children face commonly can be tackled. Firstly, parents must be able to regulate the hours children play computer games. More specifically, they may even try to permit a certain number of hours on achievement of specified goals or completion of designated tasks. Secondly, children must also be encouraged to play outdoors and could even be offered incentives to do so. This will motivate them to stay off their computers. In conclusion, although there are many issues that arise from playing on computers excessively, they can be resolved by proper restrictions on computer usage as well as incentivizing outdoor games.