Some people think that increasing communication usage of computers and mobiles phones by young people has had a negative effect on their reading and writing skills.

Nowadays, the usage of electronic devices is soaring due to advancements in technology. A few groups argued that, increasing communication via laptops and tablets by adults has had an adverse impact on their reading and writing proficiency. I completely, disagree with this notion, which I intend to discuss in the subsequent paragraphs in detail. To begin with, mobile applications and desktop software, which provide language support, have been developed to form user's life much easier. But, unfortunately, it plays a negative role to deteriorate an individual's language skills. It generally seems that youngsters installed applications such as Grammarly, MS-Word in their gadgets which helps in several ways. For example, it has in-built auto-correction functionality which correct spellings automatically in case of mistakes. Thus, it seems advantageous for teenagers in their academic life and personal life. Furthermore, communicating with the help of technology proves beneficial as the software used by such devices provides hints of possible vocabulary while writing, not only improve one's writing skills but also improve cognitive skills. For instance, if an employee writing an E-mail to his or her senior on their computer it would be effortless for one to write an efficient and errorless E-mail. Hence, sharing views via modern gadgets boosts such proficiencies. Apart from this, chatting via social media applications such as WhatsApp, Facebook, and so on, makes people habitant of using slang words and abbreviations such as "LOL", "TTYL", "CU" which further put them in big trouble while doing presentations, colleagues group discussions, or attending formal meetings as it does not allow them to use informal terms. Therefore, it worsens writing and reading skills for young office workers. In conclusion, although communicating with electronic devices have a few demerits, it seems more constructive in terms of providing lists of synonyms, improving cognitive skills, and easing in accessing devices support in developing language proficiencies of individuals.