Employers should focus on personal qualities instead of qualifications and experience while choosing someone for a job. What extent do you agree?

Currently, there are various industries where new jobs in the science and technology are created every year. In this regard, it is argued that employers should prefer candidate’s personal traits over the qualifications and work experience. I completely disagree with the view and will present why qualifications and experience play a major role in filtering the candidates and less training will be required. First and foremost, many people have their unique personal traits, so filtering candidates solely on such traits would be a hectic process. For instance, nowadays the supply of candidates is much higher than the demand due to which many individuals are applying for a single post, therefore choosing relevant candidate would work better as it would suffice the company’s requirements. Moreover, if qualifications were not be considered than students wouldn’t be interested in studying for a degree, which affects their learning process and the research and development on various technologies would decline. Moving on, if companies hire candidates based on personal traits, then they need to train candidates drastically compared to job-seekers who have required qualifications, which would waste company’s valuable time and effort. I work in a company where they expect the candidate to have required knowledge and the employees who are hired begin working on the company products early. Finally, personal traits would create a negative impact on job-seekers who have decent talent and relevant experience but scarce personal qualities to land into a good job. All in all, even though personal qualities help candidates to some extent, having good qualifications, knowledge and experience would help both employee and employer in the long run. It is recommended that job-seekers focus on gaining relevant knowledge while searching for a job.