Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays many countries host big international sporting events to improve its economic growth. Some people favours the concept of hosting international sporting event while some believe its just waste of time and money. These massive events can provide country with much needed economic boost as well as it can expose the public relations disaster. This essay will look at both points using some examples. On one hand, these global events attracts numerous visitors and tourists who attend these events to boost morale of their team. This increase in tourists have a tremendous impact on local economy and local people observe a dramatic rise in sales of their goods and services. For instance, in a recent survey conducted in England after 2019 cricket worldcup shows that local businesses like restaurants and hotels had upto 80 percent increase in business during the period. Such international events often gain media attention from all over the globe and many people around the world would learn about the country which have a great benefit in terms of tourism and trade for the organising country. Finally, hosting such events often enhances diplomatic relations maong nations which is great in maintaining world peace. On the other hand, such international events require world class facalities and infrastructure and often requires huge amount of economic investments and if not utilized effectively afterwards could dwarf the benefits. For instance the stadium build for commonwealth games 2002 in manchester was later sold to local football club manchester city. Attracting international media attention cannot gurantee a positive promotion as media will definetly report controbversial news as well. During Beijing olympics 2008, huge protests were observed in china over the genocide in tibet and even this protests took a violent turn and around 22 peole were killed and hundreds were injured. Such events bring a lot of negative attention from all over the globe. To conclude, a host city or nation has a lot to gain from these events but only if they are economically administered correctly and the country has no controversial issues for the media to pull out of the closet.