Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Over recent years, it has become a topic of debate as a section of the society believes that making arrangements for international sports events is beneficial for the host country whereas others argue that it is damaging for the host nation's image. In my opinion, I believe that if planning is done in a proper way it is always advantageous for the country. On the one hand, with regard to conducting international games, people believe that it is not acceptable for several reasons. Firstly, they think that it might increase the crime rate. Since citizens of different nations will come with various intentions and the host country's traditional and cultural values might be a barrier for them; as a result, cases of fights, drug abuses and robberies might be recorded. Furthermore, there might be some strong possibilities that the event conducting nation might be involved in some money laundering activities to raise funds in case of unavailability of sufficient financial resources, and South Africa is the latest example of this. This is the reason that some people hold the view of not facilitating games in the nation. Nevertheless, On the other hand, it must be acknowledged that nations who host sports events on the international level not only witness an enormous development but also present themselves in the international market. This is because to accommodate and provide facilities to foreign visitors and players, host county has to invest a prodigious amount of money in road construction, public transport and medical facilities, which would help the local people in long run. Besides this, the host country would have a unique image in the foreign market which would certainly improve the trade opportunities with other countries. Common Wealth Games, for example, were conducted in India in 2012, and this grand event was a great success and after that India became one of the best choices for foreign markets to invest their money in. Therefore, I completely advocate that hosting international events is certainly profitable. To conclude, although many people consider facilitating international sports events are detrimental to a country's image, I wholeheartedly believe that it is always fruitful for a country to be a developed and prosperous nation.