Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays goverment spent a lot of public money in training sports persons. some people do not like this. but in my view government should spent money on sports person so that we can show our country up in olympics or something like that. Some peoples are opposing the use of public money on training says that the money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public. sports persons are also a part of this general public and they too paying their taxes to government. government does not encourage the use of full money on sports, instead they are using a small part of it. it is very essential to do so. In china and japan, the government spenting some money for encouraging sports in their country. children are coming into sports from their childhood days. that is the reason why these countries getting more gold medals in sporting events. In india, there is not much encouragement from government in sports. athletes are working hard to get money for buying equipment and all. once india got a chance in playing football world cup, but due to the lack of money in buying shoes and other stuffs, the players cannot participate in that event. so spending money in training sports person is a good thing so that our country will get space in international minds. some part of the annual budjet should be used for sports. otherways the sports culture in a country will be ruined. From the above points it is clear that spending money on sports person will not go useless.