Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

Nowadays many countries partake in many international events for a plethora of reasons. While a number of people are of the opinion that having an international sports event plays a vital role in a particular country, others believe that those events has a negative impact. Let us examine both views before reaching a concrete decision. First and foremost, a country that hosts international events is always in the limelight and can enhance its image. This is because it will hinder development and streghten their economy. For example, when the Olympics was hosted in South Africa in the year 2000, there was an increased tourism and infarastructure development benefit for that nation. As a result of that optimism, a number of tourists, up to date visit South Africa regularly. On the other hand, many agree that is a bad idea for a country to host events. Money spent on state-of-the-art stadiums and arenas would be better spent on public services such as education and health. Although, hosting events like the World Cup has some benefits, it may result in the country incurring huge debts. For instance, after the world focuses on that event for few weeks, places where the events were held soon slip back into anonymity. Consequently, research shows that some events which draw huge crowds are often potential targets for crime rates and violence. If a particular event is not well organised, the image of the host nation and its people will be tarnished. In conclusion, while the benefits of hosting an international sports event, alows the country to benefit in so many ways, some still feel that it is not a great phenomenon. However, as long as we keep in mind the importance of a these events in the country's economy, the benefits are clearly positive.