Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

Sports is the field that unites the nation regardless of people's opinions and perspectives as it contains a sense of harmony and pride among its citizens. And when sports is being played at an international level, entire world is looking at the host nation for its ability to successfully create a friendly and home environment for each player. Being at the forefront of this extraordinary show comes with price as well as pride. Firstly, being a host of international sporting event shows that country has modern standards to plan, organize and carry out the event smoothly. It takes immense and meticulous planning of each sub event that covers nearly every department of the host nation's government. For instance, maintaining peace and security is handled by law enforcement, logistics is handled by many public-private parternship, immigration of players is handled by foreign affairs, etc. Depending on the number of locations where the host nation plans to organize the event, thousands of small businesses enjoy the steep increase in their sales or services as a result of improved country's image, its values, traditions, culture, and many more. It also fuels the energy in the youth of the nation to be a part of the event as a future player and represent their homeland proudly around the globe. More flights to various nations often leads to better business opportunities of nation's air carriers. Government can rapidly improve public infrastructure by spending on resources like better roads, airports, railways, accommodation, etc. Hosting the sporting event eventually leads to increased international talks between countries on various topics like trade, security, health, business, and more. To take a real world example, China hosted Summer Olympics at Beijing in 2008. At that time, China eagerly wanted to showcase the world about its strengths and it was successful. Entire world took the note of the nation which usually brings most medals after USA, UK, Australia but didn't hosted it till then. And now, its on the way to host even more grand Winter Olympics of 2022. As the coin has two sides, there also exits few downsides of hosting the event. When the host nation is a developing country or third world country, it has many more things to work on such as poverty, housing, socialized healthcare, etc. Overall, welcoming international athelets and hosting the sporting event might be a transformative and remarkable period of the host nation's history.