Nowadays more and more older people who are looking for work have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

It is true that there is a lot of competition for jobs between young and elderly people. This essay will discuss the main causes of competition between the different age groups due to flexibility and latest skills. This essay will also suggest solutions to these problems including one's upgrading the skill and increase in courses by government. Old people like to work in traditional ways and have former skills. Due to advancement in technology, practices are getting updated with latest trends which needs regular brushing up of skills. Although, young people are always revolved around the newest technology and more adaptive to new working culture, old people are inclined towards their own method of working used previous years ago. For instance, old people will take time to learn new information technology as compared to the younger ones. This often results in selection of young generation for an opportunity as related to the older ones. Despite the issues, with regular upskilling and evolving with the technology and can help old people to get more attractive. They need to understand the importance of learning new skills in the market and growing with the latest culture around. Government can launch free new courses for people towards higher age so that it will be easy for them to be in line with younger generation. For example, courses started by Indian government on awareness of internet banking helped several people to understand the end to end flow of latest banking facilities. Therefore, it is important for the old people to follow the new technologies and upskill themselves, which can result in healthier competition. In conclusion, in todays fast paced world, competition is increased for old people with the younger generation. This essay discussed how being in own comfortable zone with respect to work culture and technologies caused this increase in competition. This essay also suggested that adaptability to new environment and being updated in latest technology can help them to cope up with the situation.